17th edition of the “Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press” launched

February 2, 2022
Share on

The European Union and Samir Kassir Foundation launched the 17th edition of the “Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press”.

The award, which has been granted by the European Union since 2006, honours the Lebanese journalist and writer Samir Kassir, who was assassinated in 2005. The competition for the award has attracted since its creation more than 3,000 candidates from the Middle East, the Gulf and North Africa.

The contest is open to candidates from North Africa, the Middle East and the Gulf. Candidates must submit an opinion article, an investigative article, or an audiovisual report centered around one or more of the following topics: rule of law, human rights, good governance, fight against corruption, freedom of expression, democratic development, or citizen participation.

The deadline for sending in contributions is 1 April 2022.

For more information

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia
Human Rights