First Mediterranean power statistics web platform launched

December 9, 2020
Share on

The EU-funded Med-TSO has announced the launch of the first Mediterranean Power Statistics web platform.

For the first time, all essential data about the performances of the Mediterranean power systems and the interconnections among the 19 countries members of the Association are gathered and available on a public website.

The realization of such a platform faced many challenges, starting, as an example, with the realization of a unique format to collect data from all the TSOs. The first data collection, held in 2020, consisted of 2019 year-end data that will be updated on an annual basis.

The scope of this platform is to enable the various operators in the electricity sector, as well as all the stakeholders, to have quickly access to information never made available before in the Mediterranean energy scene in a single repository.

This important feature represents a concrete and important step towards Med-TSO vision to become a professional and strategic reference body for every technical, market and policy issue related to the Mediterranean electricity system.

Med-TSO is the Association of the Mediterranean Transmission System Operators (TSOs) for electricity, operating the High Voltage Transmission Networks of 19 Mediterranean Countries. It was established on 19 April 2012 in Rome as a technical platform that, using multilateral cooperation as a strategy of regional development, could facilitate the integration of the Mediterranean power systems and foster security and socio – economic development in the region. Its 21 members share the primary objective of promoting the creation of a Mediterranean energy market, ensuring its optimal functioning through the definition of common methodologies, rules and practices for optimizing the operation of the existing infrastructures and facilitating the development of new ones.


Read more

Press release

Mediterranean power statistics web platform


Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia