Mediterranean: EUR 20 million for civil society

March 24, 2016
Share on
The European Commission launched a call for proposals for a total amount of EUR 20 million, on Wednesday 16 March 2016, to involve civil society in pan-African issues, according to a statement on the website of the EU Delegation in Algeria. 
Five African countries bordering the Mediterranean (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt) are invited to cooperate in addition to the cooperation foreseen in the “neighbourhood policy” in these countries. 
The objective is “to improve the contribution of civil society organizations (CSOs) in decision making and policy formulation processes at the continental level in Africa, particularly in the areas of good governance and democracy, human rights, peace and security and the rights of women.”

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia