Syria: 7 new ministers added to the EU sanctions list

October 19, 2020
Share on

The European Council decided to impose targeted restrictive measures on recently appointed ministers in Syria. This decision brings to 280 the number of persons targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze. 70 entities are also listed and, as such, are subject to an assets freeze.

The sanctions currently in place against the Syrian regime were introduced in 2011, in response to the violent repression of the Syrian civilian population. They also  target companies and prominent business people benefitting from their ties with the regime and the war economy.

The Council keeps developments in the Syrian conflict under constant review. Any decision to prolong the sanctions is for the Council to take on an annual basis.

The EU remains committed to finding a lasting and credible political solution to the conflict in Syria on the basis of UN Security Council resolution 2254 and the 2012 Geneva Communiqué.

Read more

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Syria *
Human Rights