Western Mediterranean countries adopt roadmap to develop sustainable blue economy in the region

December 6, 2018
Share on

Ministers of the Western Mediterranean countries, together with the European Commission and the Union for the Mediterranean, adopted this week a declaration to strengthen regional cooperation on the WestMED initiative. This initiative promotes the maritime economy in the Western Mediterranean, and involves 10 countries from in and outside of the EU (Algeria, France, Italy, Libya, Malta, Mauritania, Morocco, Portugal, Spain and Tunisia).

The signatories agreed on a common roadmap for the development of a sustainable blue economy in the sub-basin to generate growth, create jobs and provide a better living environment for Mediterranean populations, while preserving the services performed by the Mediterranean ecosystem.

The WestMED Roadmap identifies six joint priorities for action by participating countries, specifically: maritime cluster development, biodiversity and marine habitat conservation and restoration, sustainable consumption and production, development of coastal communities and sustainable fisheries and aquaculture, skills development and circulation, maritime safety and the fight against marine pollution.


Read more

Press release

WestMED Initiative – website and infographic

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia