30th North-South Prize of the Council of Europe

Opportunity type : Calls for Proposals
Share on

The North-South Centre of the Council of Europe announces the opening of the call for nominations for the 30th North-South Prize of the Council of Europe.

The call allows to identify personalities, activists, or organisations that have distinguished themselves by their exceptional commitment to the protection of human rights, the defence of pluralist democracy, or raising public awareness on issues of global interdependence and solidarity. Since 1995, the North-South Prize of the Council of Europe honours two candidates, one from the North and the other from the South whose achievements have contributed to protecting these values.

The call for nominations is open to anyone wishing to propose candidates to expand their international recognition. The nominations can be submitted in English or French on this form by 07 October.

The list of candidates will be examined by a Jury composed of representatives of civil society organisations, local and regional authorities, parliaments, international organisations, and the North-South Centre Member States. The Jury will select the two Laureates who will receive an honorary prize at an official ceremony held in the Spring of 2025 at the Portuguese Parliament.

This year’s laureates will join a prestigious list constituted by 51 personalities from 35 different countries, such as Mr Kofi Annan, Mr Peter Gabriel, Ms Simone Veil, Ms Zarifa Ghafari, Her Highness Queen Rania Al-Abdullah, Mr André Azoulay, Ms Mary Robinson, and Ms Amina Bouayach, as well as international organisations such as the International Commission against the Death Penalty, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the Association of Ukrainian Cities, and the Global Campus of Human Rights.

If you would like to learn more about the selection process, please refer to the regulations.

For more information about the event, please visit the North South Prize of the Council of Europe’s webpage.

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia