Accelerating the green transition and energy access Partnership with Africa

Opportunity type : Calls for Proposals
Share on

This action responds to the Joint Communication for a Comprehensive Strategy with Africa adopted on 9/3/2020, which highlights that innovation is key to enable African countries to pursue sustainable pathways to development through a low-carbon, climate resilient and green growth trajectory, leapfrogging fossil fuel technologies. It will contribute to the present R&I Partnership on Climate Change and Sustainable Energy of the EU/AU High-Level Policy Dialogue on Science, Technology and Innovation that is expected to strongly contribute to Action 1 of the Comprehensive Strategy with Africa.

Expected Impact:

The demonstrators should provide evidence of the following short-term expected impacts:

  • technologically reliable and economically viable solutions;
  • proven positive environmental, health, climate, social and economic impacts of the renewable energy solutions, by putting in place measures and mechanisms in line with the highest European Environmental and Social standards (see ESIA procedure), and taking into consideration the upcoming taxonomy principles and mechanism;
  • climate adaptation and climate mitigation potential of the solutions compared to other technologies/solutions;
  • strengthening of the joint EU-AU Climate Change and Sustainable Energy Partnership efforts, with emphasis on improving the visibility of EU Science Diplomacy actions in Africa.

The following medium term impacts are expected:

  • creation of new market opportunities for both European and African companies on the African continent;
  • technological uptake on the African continent;
  • acceleration of the achievements of the African continent’s targets of the Paris Agreement, in line with Europe’s Green Deal ambition of climate neutrality, and its external dimensions.

Longer term impacts expected:

  • economic growth and job creation, both in the EU and in African countries.

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia