Agadir Agreement – EU support project

Project Duration
2004 - 2008
€ 4 million (MEDA)

Countries covered:

  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia

Brief Description

An EU project backing the efforts of the four Mediterranean Partner Countries (Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia), participating in the Agadir Agreement, to strengthen south-south cooperation and work towards a Free Trade Area
Tunisia, Morocco, Jordan, Egypt

Actions in brief


  • Sets up the Agadir Technical Assistance Unit.
  • Carries out 5 studies: Identifying possible sectors for increasing economic integration between the partner countries; Technical barriers to trade; Customs cooperation; Opportunities for cumulation; Trade integration in automotive and textiles sectors.
  • Trains officials on issues such as rules of origins and standards.
  • Organises awareness actions on opportunities created, for Agadir countries and EU investors and commercial partners.


Sustainable Development