Call for applications for young people – Training in advocacy for the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Opportunity type : Training
Share on

Safir is an ambitious project supporting youth and the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in 9 countries across North Africa and the Middle East that are : Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia. Co-financed by the European Union, it promotes the economic inclusion of young people and their active participation in achieving the SDGs and in national and regional decision making processes.

The objective of this call for applications is to select 325 young people to invite them to take part in Safir’s activities on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). More precisely, the selected youth will benefit, for 6 months, from training sessions on Agenda 2030, advocacy and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). These sessions will be carried out by 21 civil society organizations (CSOs), which are Safir partners.

The training is scheduled from September 2021 to February 2022. Later in March 2022, some of the trained youth will be selected to participate in the regional Youth Forum event and, more importantly, in the Arab Forum for Sustainable Development (AFSD), which is a regional event organized by ESCWA on a yearly basis in preparation for the High Level Political Forum (HLPF) in New York. The selected youth will be allowed to take part at the AFSD and will have the opportunity to share their visions and recommandations on SDGs.

Eligibility requirements

  • You are between 18 and 30 years old;
  • You are from one of the following countries : Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia;
  • You reside in one of the following countries: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine and Tunisia ;
  • You are a student, fresh graduate, employee, job hunter, entrepreneur or engaged in civil society…

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia