ANIMA-Union for the Mediterranean workshops: Tapping the sustainable development potential of investment

May 4, 2020
Share on

The ANIMA Investment Network, in collaboration with the Union for the Mediterranean and the German Agency for International Cooperation (GIZ), is holding a series of workshops to help develop investments that contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in the Mediterranean region.

The opening session called “Developing Investments that Contribute to Sustainable Development” was held on 28 April. It brought together stakeholders representing the ecosystem of investment developers with the aim of launching a new initiative called “Impact Invest”, designed to bring private sector investors on board to help achieve the Sustainable Development Goals in the Mediterranean region.

Within the framework of the online workshop, a first project lab took place digitally on 29 April 2020, under the title “Conditions for creating the emergence of projects contributing to sustainable development at territorial level”. This meeting was attended by representatives of investment promotion agencies, local authorities, innovators, private sector and the civil society.

Participants discussed the need to define and categorise projects contributing to the SDGs and a number of projects were proposed on areas such as renewable energies, transport, access to water and industry. The meeting sought to identify how to help these projects emerge -including initiatives such as call for proposals, feasibility studies, creation of funds- and what preparation is needed to engineer the project before its promotion.

One more Project Lab was organized on 30 April and a third one will follow on 5 May as a space for collective intelligence, bringing together public and private stakeholders to devise concrete approaches and feed the Impact Invest work plan.


Read more

Press release

Opening remarks by the UfM Secretary General Nasser Kamel

The Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia