Commission announces winners of Megalizzi – Niedzielski prize 2021 for aspiring journalists and launches a new call for proposals

October 18, 2021
Share on

The European Commission has announced the winners of the 2021 Megalizzi – Niedzielski prize for aspiring journalists: Irene Barahona Fernández from Spain and Jack Ryan from Ireland. Irene and Jack received the prize for their promising work, dedication to quality journalism and attachment to EU values.

During the awards ceremony, the Commission has launched the 5th call for proposals supporting information measures relating to EU Cohesion policy, with an overall budget of €7 million.

Media, as well as universities, communication agencies and other private entities and public bodies are invited to submit their proposals for editorially independent reporting on Cohesion policy.

The deadline for application is 11 January 2022.

The Megalizzi – Niedzielski prize for aspiring journalists was launched in 2019 and honours the memory of Antonio Megalizzi and Bartosz Piotr Orent-Niedzielski, young European journalists with strong attachment to the EU and its values, who lost their lives after a terrorist attack in Strasbourg in late 2018. 

For more information

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia