COVID-19: Temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU

March 19, 2020
Share on

EU Leaders agreed to temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries into the EU area for 30 days. Any possible prolongation of this period should be assessed depending on further developments.

The temporary travel restriction foresees exemptions for nationals of all EU Member States and Schengen Associated States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland; whilst UK nationals are still to be treated in the same way as EU citizens until end 2020), for the purposes of returning to their homes. Exceptions are also foreseen for travellers with an essential function or need.

Read more

Press release

Communication from the Commission to the European Parliament, the European Council and the Council

Updated information on the EU Ministries of Foreign Affairs websites by country

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia