EU allocates €220 million to EU-Mediterranean partnership for food and water projects

April 26, 2017
Share on

The EU will help to develop water provision and agro-food projects in the Mediterranean region under a new Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA). The EU’s participation will include a contribution of €220 million from its Framework Programme for research and innovation, the “Horizon 2020” Programme.

The PRIMA initiative, expected to be operational in early 2018, will pool the know-how and financial resources of the EU and participating states. The partnership currently involves eleven EU member states: Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal and Slovenia; and eight non-EU countries: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Israel, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey.

The participation to the PRIMA initiative will remain open to any other EU member state, as well as to third countries provided they fulfil the conditions for participating in PRIMA.

Today’s decision by the Coreper, the EU’s Committee of Permanent Representatives, follows an agreement reached by the Maltese presidency with the European Parliament on 11 April.

Read more

Press release

EU to work with Mediterranean partners on research and innovation (11/04/2017)

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia