EU-funded SAFEMED IV: Expert Working Group meets to follow up implementation of pilot project

January 20, 2020
Share on

The EU-funded Black and Caspian Sea Regions (BCSEA) and SAFEMED IV Projects implemented by the European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA) foresee the implementation of a 3-phase Pilot Project on sharing of Automatic Identification System (AIS) information:

Phase 1: Exchange of T-AIS between the SAFEMED/BCSEA countries;
Phase 2: Exchange of T-AIS data between SAFEMED IV and BCSEA countries and EU MSs of the Mediterranean Regional AIS Server hosted by the Italian Coast Guard (MARES)
Phase 3: Involvement of the ENP countries in SafeSeaNet.

Within this context, SAFEMED IV and BCSEA Projects’ beneficiary countries participating in Phase 1 of the Pilot Project, namely Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia, Georgia, Ukraine and Turkey which also expressed interest in the topic, attended the 16th MARES Expert Working Group (EWG) meeting which was held in Rome on 12 December 2019.

During the meeting, EMSA representatives informed the EU Member States which participate in MARES of the latest ENP Projects’ developments and actions planned to start with the implementation of Phase 2 of the Pilot Projects on sharing of AIS information. The second phase implies sharing of AIS information on a voluntary basis between the ENP countries and EU MSs parties to MARES.

The European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA) is implementing SAFEMED IV project for technical assistance bringing together national, European and international stakeholders with the aim to raise the safety, security and protection of marine environment standards in the Mediterranean sea, with a view to implement the maritime aspects of the UfM Regional Transport Action Plan 2014-2020.


Read More

Press Release

European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)

Countries covered:

  • Jordan
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia