EU manifesto “Culture for the future”: A vision on creativity, innovation and dialogue for inclusive development

August 26, 2019
Share on

400 experts and professionals from cultural and creative sectors from the EU partner countries and the EU Member States, Civil Society Organisations, platforms, other various, the European Commission services gathered in Brussels on 16 and 17 June 2019 at the International Colloquium “Culture for the Future” to explore how cultural and creative sectors contribute to sustainable development and inclusiveness. The Colloquium was organised by the Directorate General for International Cooperation and Development of the European Commission to promote culture, creativity, innovation and dialogue as key drivers of inclusive development and peace. The event supported the cultural dimension of development and international cooperation as a strategic dimension in the policies of the European Union and its Member States as well as to encourage investments from private sector and financial institutions.

Over the past decade, the European Commission has actively supported the cultural and creative industries in the partner countries and intends to further mobilise the potential of culture for sustainable development, job creation and social cohesion. Ten years after the influential 2009 symposium “Culture and creativity: vectors of development”, this two-day conference represented a key moment to reflect and draft the future of EU support to the cultural dimension of development and international cooperation.

A manifesto “Culture for the future” was prepared to highlight the role of culture in development. The manifesto includes ten recommendations for culture for the future to ensure an enhanced commitment by artists, the private sector, civil society, financial institutions, governments, international organisations and donors, including the EU institutions and the EU Member States.


Read more

Press release

Manifesto “Culture for the Future”

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia