The European Agenda on Migration: EU needs to sustain progress made over the past 4 years

March 6, 2019
Share on

Ahead of the March European Council, the Commission is today taking stock of progress made over the past 4 years and setting out the measures still required to address immediate and future migration challenges.

The most pressing issues that require further work are:

  • Western Mediterranean route: support to Morocco needs to be further intensified as the Western Mediterranean route has seen a significant increase in arrivals.
  • Central Mediterranean route: Improving the appalling conditions in Libya: efforts through the trilateral AU-EU-UN taskforce must continue to help free migrants from detention, facilitate voluntary return and to evacuate the most vulnerable.
  • Eastern Mediterranean route: Migration management in Greece: While the EU-Turkey Statement has continued to ensure greatly reduced arrivals on the Greek islands, key problems in Greece remain unresolved as regards returns, asylum processing and adequate accommodation.
  • Temporary arrangements for disembarkation.

When it comes to migration, a comprehensive approach is indispensable – embracing action with partners outside the EU, at the external border, and inside the EU. The situation requires continuous, determined action across the full range of the comprehensive approach along each of the four pillars of the European Agenda on Migration (Tackling the drivers of irregular migration; Stronger Border Management; Protection and asylum; Legal migration and integration).


Read more

Press release

Communication – Report on the Implementation of the European Agenda on Migration

Factsheet: A step-change in migration management and border security: a timeline

Factsheet: Facts matter: Debunking myths about migration

Factsheet: Migration: Immediate measures needed

Factsheet – EU Actions along the Western Mediterranean Route

Factsheet – EU Actions along the Central Mediterranean Route

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia