European Commission approves Interreg ‘NEXT MED’ programme

December 21, 2022
Share on

The European Commission has approved the Interreg VI-B NEXT “Mediterranean Sea Basin” (NEXT MED) transnational cooperation programme involving 15 countries for an amount of €253 million of EU funding.

Interreg NEXT MED aims to contribute to smart, sustainable, fair development across the Mediterranean basin by supporting balanced, long-lasting, far-reaching cooperation and multilevel governance. The programme mission is to finance cooperation projects that address joint socio-economic, environmental and governance challenges at Mediterranean level such as the uptake of advanced technologies, competitiveness of SMEs and job creation, energy efficiency, sustainable water management, climate change adaptation, transition to a circular and resource efficient economy, education and training, health care, etc.

The cooperation area, home to over 200 million inhabitants, cover 15 countries: 13 of them which already participated in the previous editions of the programme – Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Jordan, Malta, Palestine, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia – and two new members, namely Algeria and Türkiye (Turkey).

For more information

Countries covered:

  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia