The European Commission launches the WestMED Initiative for a safer and more secure Mediterranean maritime space

October 9, 2018
Share on

The fourth Steering Committee meeting of the WestMED initiative was held on 3 October in Algiers, Algeria. The initiative gathers 10 Mediterranean countries (Algeria, Spain, France, Italy, Libya, Malta, Morocco, Mauritania, Portugal and Tunisia) around three common goals: a safer and more secure maritime space, a smart and resilient blue economy by 2022 and a better governance of the sea.

This fourth meeting launched the technical assistance mechanism introduced by the European Commission to support the participating countries and the stakeholders in the implementation of this joint effort.

The WestMED initiative has already achieved concrete results: 8 projects have already been funded for a total budget of about €7.6 million.

A WestMED stakeholders conference is to be held in Algiers in early December, followed by a ministerial conference, to give the necessary impetus to the development of other projects.


Read more

Press release

WestMED Initiative – website and infographic

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia