European Commission’s Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for outstanding journalism in development: Apply now

February 19, 2019
Share on

The European Commission’s Lorenzo Natali Media Prize recognises journalists doing exceptional reporting on development issues such as poverty eradication and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development. Applications are now open, from 18 February to 14 April for online, print and audio-visual work.

The 2019 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will be awarded in three categories:

  • Grand Prize: open to media based in these regions: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean, from countries where the European Commission provides development cooperation.
  • Europe Prize: open to media based in the European Union.
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 working for media in any of the above mentioned countries.

Each category winner will receive €10.000. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience with a media partner.

All winners will be announced and awarded during the European Development Days in Brussels this June.


Read more

Press release

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia
Civil Society Media