The European Union rewards three journalist winners of the 2019 edition of the Samir Kassir Awards

May 31, 2019
Share on

On 30th May, the Delegation of the European Union to Lebanon held for the 14th time the award ceremony of the Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press at the Sursock Palace Gardens in Beirut. The Award is the annual press freedom flagship event in Lebanon and one of the most prestigious journalism awards in the MENA and Gulf regions.
The annual ceremony was organised in association with the Samir Kassir Foundation in Lebanon, recognising the work of journalists from MENA and Gulf countries in the categories of: opinion pieces (76 entries), investigative articles (113 entries), and audiovisual news reports (44 entries). The prize awarded for the winner in each of the three categories is of €10,000. Finalists receive each €1,000.

The winners of the 2019 award are:
– Opinion piece category: Roger Asfar from Syria,
– Investigative article category: Ali Al-Ibrahim from Syria,
– Audiovisual news report category: Youssef Ziraoui from Morocco,

The EU stands up for freedom of expression, and calls to end impunity for crimes against journalists.

Read more

Press release





Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia