Foreign Affairs Ministers of the 5 + 5 Dialogue renew their commitment to collective security and partnership in the Western Mediterranean

October 26, 2020
Share on

The Foreign Affairs Ministers of the “5+5 Dialogue”, which includes 5 countries from the Northern shore of the Mediterranean (Spain, France, Italy, Malta and Portugal) and 5 from the Southern shore (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania and Tunisia) met  online last week  for a conference under the title “Together for Collective Security and Partnership in the Western Mediterranean”. 

The 16th Ministerial Meeting of Foreign Affairs gave special attention to the issue of regional security, as well as the promotion of inclusive and shared development, youth and employment, migration and sustainable development. 

The final declaration of this Ministerial Conference  welcomed the “the driving role of the UfM as a special platform for dialogue and regional cooperation, bringing together all the Mediterranean countries and the European Union.” 

Acknowledging  the celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the Barcelona Process this year and in the context of the preparations of the 5th UfM Regional Forum,  the Ministers reaffirmed their attachment to this regional framework of dialogue and cooperation and reiterated their commitment to further strengthen it. 


Read more

Press release

The 5+5 Dialogue

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia
Human Rights