Historic participation of CrimEx members in EJN Plenary meeting in Tallinn

December 13, 2017
Share on

On 21st-23rd November 2017, EuroMed Justice’s Group of Experts in criminal matters (CrimEx) held its 4th Session under the auspices of the EU Estonian Presidency in Tallinn (Estonia) and back to back with the 49th European Judicial Network (EJN) Plenary Meeting. It gathered participants from 6 South Partners Countries – Palestine, Lebanon, Algeria, Israel, Morocco, and Tunisia – together with representatives from the Estonian Presidency, Eurojust, the EJN Secretariat, EJN contact points in Germany, Bulgaria and Romania, and UNODC. This fourth session was jointly organised with EJN.

CrimEx 4 focused on the “Roadmap for a EuroMed Judicial Platform”. CrimEx had direct contacts and dynamic exchanges of views with the representatives of Eurojust, the EJN Secretariat, UNODC and the International Association of Prosecutors (IAP) regarding the participation in networks for judicial cooperation in criminal matters and the coordination among such networks. A questionnaire was also drafted and will be used as the basis of the Roadmap, which should be further discussed and approved in a future CrimEx session.

This fourth session also marked a milestone as, for the first time in EJN history, representatives of the Mediterranean countries attended one of EJN plenary meetings, and direct Euro-Mediterranean contacts and dialogue among judicial cooperation experts were established. In this context, CrimEx acted as the “EuroMed facilitator platform” for judicial cooperation and cases between SPCs and EU Member States were addressed for the first time.

EuroMed Justice (2016-2018) is an EU-funded project which aims to contribute to the development of a Euro-Mediterranean area of cooperation in the field of justice and to the development of effective, efficient and democratic justice systems which protect and promote human rights.


Read More

Press Release

EuroMed Justice

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Israel
  • Lebanon
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia