Honouring courage in journalism: Apply for the 2021 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize until 19 April

March 3, 2021
Share on

Applications have opened this week for one of the world’s leading journalism awards – the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. Backed by the European Commission, the prize honours journalists from around the world for their courageous reporting and for their stories about people and the planet that highlight some of today’s biggest challenges and inspiring solutions that address them. The closing date for entries is 19 April 2021. The winners will be awarded with €10,000.

If you are a journalist based in one of EU’s partner countries, you can submit a single application in one of these categories:

  • Grand Prize: for reporting published by a media outlet based in one of the European Union’s partner countries.
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: for reporting by a journalist below 30 years old, published in a media outlet based in the European Union or in one of its partner countries.

A grand jury of renowned journalists and specialists in international development from around the world will choose the winners in each category.

Each winner will receive €10,000. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered work experience with a media partner.


Read more

Press release

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2021 – webpage

Video : The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is open for applications

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia
Civil Society Media