Launch of the EBRD Literature Prize 2022

October 18, 2021
Share on

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) announces the launch of the EBRD Literature Prize 2022, in cooperation with the British Council.

The Prize celebrates the rich cultural diversity of the regions where the Bank works, regions that stretch from central Europe to central Asia, as well as from the Western Balkans to the southern and eastern Mediterranean and northern Africa.

The EBRD Literature Prize 2022 will be awarded to both writer and translator for the best work of literary fiction (including collections of short stories by a single author) translated into English, written originally in any language of the EBRD’s countries of operations and published for the first time by a European (including UK) publisher in the period covered by the Prize.

The submission deadline for publishers is 30 November 2021.

Since its inauguration in 2017, the EBRD Literature Prize has introduced English-language readers to a wide range of literature from countries as diverse as Albania, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Georgia, Lativia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Morocco, Poland, Russia, Turkey and Uzbekistan.

For more information

Press release

EBRD Literature Prize

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia