Mediterranean: public consultation on Research and Innovation

February 2, 2016
Share on

On Tuesday 2 February, the European Commission announced the opening of a public consultation on the Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA). 

For Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation the “cooperation in the Mediterranean region exemplifies the EU commitment to being open to the world, and to our immediate neighbourhood in particular”.
The aim is “to work together on global challenges and ensure the sustainable provision of vital resources – water and food – in the Mediterranean basin”. 
The Commission states that “seven non-EU countries are taking part in PRIMA: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey”. The consultation runs until 24 April 2016. 

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia