Samir Kassir Award: the EU rewards five journalists

June 2, 2021
Share on

On 1 June 2021, the Delegation of the European Union to Lebanon with its partner, the Samir Kassir Foundation, announced the results of the 16th edition of the Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press.

This Award, established and funded by the European Union (EU), is the most prestigious journalism award in the Middle East, North Africa and Gulf region. It reiterates the EU’s commitment to supporting independent, in-depth journalism as one of the key factors in building strong state institutions, based on transparency and accountability.

This year 206 journalists participated in the competition from Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, and Yemen. The winner in each category is awarded with a prize of €10,000. Each of the two runner-ups receive a €1,000 prize.

The winners of the 2021 Samir Kassir Award are:

– Opinion Piece category: Yehya Al-Yaqoubi from Palestine

– Investigative Article category: Sultan Jalabi from Syria

– Audio-visual News Report category: Hoda Zakaria and Mennatullah Hamdy from Egypt, and Hammadi Lassoued from Tunisia.

For more information :

Press release

EU Delegation to Lebanon on Facebook

Countries covered:

  • Lebanon