Samir Kassir Award: three journalists from Syria and Egypt winners of 2016 edition

June 3, 2016
Share on

The Delegation of the EU in Lebanon organised on Thursday 2 June, in collaboration with the Samir Kassir Foundation, the ceremony for the Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press, held on the 11th anniversary of Samir Kassir’s assassination.

The winners of the 2016 edition are:
– Opinion piece category: Maher Massoud (born in 1977) from Syria.
– Investigative article category: Mohammad Tarek (born in 1989) from Egypt.
– Audiovisual report category: Matar Ismaïl (born in 1988) from Syria.
The Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press is funded by the EU, and rewards journalists who have distinguished themselves through the quality of their work and their commitment to human rights and democracy. Organised every year since 2006, the Award honours the memory of the Lebanese journalist Samir Kassir who was assassinated on 2 June 2005 in Beirut. (EU Neighbourhood Info)
Read more
Samir Kassir Award – website and Facebook page
EU Delegation to Lebanon – website and Facebook page


Countries covered:

  • Lebanon