Syria: four new ministers added to EU sanctions list

November 16, 2021
Share on

The Council of Europe decided to add four recently-appointed ministers to the list of persons and entities subject to targeted EU restrictive measures in view of the situation in Syria.

This decision brings to 287 the number of persons targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze.The list also includes 70 entities, which are subject to an asset freeze.

The sanctions currently in place against the Syrian regime were introduced in 2011, in response to the violent repression of the Syrian civilian population. They also target companies and prominent business people benefitting from their ties to the regime and the war economy. 

The goal of the EU sanctions is to put pressure on the Syrian regime to halt repression and negotiate a lasting political settlement of the Syrian crisis in line with UN Security Council Resolution 2254. They are part and parcel of the EU’s wider approach to the Syria crisis. Sanctions on Syria remain under constant review

For more information

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Syria *
Human Rights