Three Tunisian writers in European Union Prize for Literature 2021 shortlist

May 6, 2021
Share on

55 authors and books from 14 participating countries are nominated for the 2021 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL). Each year, the EUPL awards one winner per country from a third of participating countries. Three Tunisian writers are part of this year’s shortlist.

The selected fictions for Tunisia are:

Amin Al-Ghazzi,زندالي.. ليلة 14 جانفي 2011​(Zindali, the night of 14 january 2011),

Béchir Garbouj, L’Emirat(The Emirate),

Saber Mansouri, Sept morts audacieux et un poète assis (Seven daring deaths and a seated poet).

The winners of the EUPL 2021 edition will be announced on 18 May in a digital event.

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission, which aims to achieve three main goals: to promote cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector; to encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output; and to foster intercultural dialogue. The Prize competition is open to the 41 countries currently involved in the Creative Europe programme.


Read more

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Tunisia