UfM commemorates 10 years of tangible action towards enhanced regional dialogue and cooperation in the Euro-Mediterranean region

July 16, 2018
Share on

Ten years ago, on 13 July 2008, the Euro-Mediterranean Heads of States and Government launched the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM) in Paris, building on the Barcelona Process and bringing together 43 countries in a partnership built on co-ownership by all the participants with a view to addressing the common challenges facing the Euro-Mediterranean region, such as economic and social development; degradation of the environment, including climate change; energy; migration; terrorism and extremism; as well as promoting dialogue between cultures.

The 3rd UfM Regional Forum, set to take place on 8 October in Barcelona, will gather the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the UfM Member States to take stock of these past ten years and discuss the prospects for the future work of the organisation.

Over these ten years, the Union for the Mediterranean has navigated high waters and has managed to consolidate its institutional capacity and to show that it is capable of contributing to the landscape of regional cooperation and integration”, said the designated UfM Secretary General, Nasser Kamel. We have a solid base to capitalize on, as we further expand the spectrum of our activities, create new synergies and partnerships and consolidate our role as a platform of regional dialogue.  With the ongoing support of the Co-Presidency and the Member States, new milestones are within reach”, he added.

To date, the UfM adds up to more than 50 region-wide cooperation projects ranging from sustainable development initiatives and urban infrastructure projects to programmes fostering multi-sectorial capacity building, gender equality, entrepreneurship or job creation.


Read more

Press release

The Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)

Union for the Mediterranean: 10 years of Regional Cooperation website

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia