The Union for the Mediterranean backs regional and local authorities’ strategy for a sustainable territorial development of the Mediterranean basin

February 5, 2019
Share on

The Secretary General of the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM), Nasser Kamel, attended yesterday the signing ceremony of the declaration launching the #MedCooperationAlliance, a new strategy put in place by long-standing local and regional partners of the UfM to promote the sustainable and integrated territorial development of the Mediterranean basin.

Signed by the regions of the Intermediterranean Commission of the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions (CPMR), the Euro-Région Pyrénées-Méditerranée, the Adriatic Ionian Euroregion and the networks of local authorities MedCities and Arco Latino, this declaration calls stakeholders active in the Euro-Mediterranean region to redouble their efforts towards better integrated macro-regional strategies and stronger cooperation instruments, in order to build a common, more cohesive and co-owned Euro-Mediterranean region.


Read More

Press Release

The Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia