The Union for the Mediterranean calls for increased collaboration with 5+5 Dialogue countries in research, innovation and higher education

June 12, 2019
Share on

The Secretary General of the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM), Nasser Kamel, addressed the Ministers in charge of Research, Innovation and Higher Education of the countries of the Western Mediterranean Forum (commonly referred to as “5+5 Dialogue”) on the occasion of their Fourth Ministerial Conference which took place in Rome, Italy, on 10 June 2019.

Ministers of Research, Innovation and Higher Education of the 5+5 Dialogue countries adopted new priorities for promoting sustainable economic growth, social inclusion and creating new opportunities for youth in the Western Mediterranean Region. They expressed, in the Declaration of Rome adopted on 10 June 2019, “political support to the UfM labelled projects and initiatives on research, innovation, higher education, advanced training and capacity building”.

The European Commission and the Arab Maghreb Union, which, like the Union for the Mediterranean, have the status of observers in the 5+5 Dialogue, also took part in the Ministerial Conference.

The 5+5 Dialogue gathers five countries from the north of the Mediterranean (Spain, France, Italy, Malta and Portugal) and five countries from the southern shore (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania and Tunisia).


Read More

Press Release

The Union for the Mediterranean (UfM)

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia