Winners of 2019 Migration Media Award proclaimed in Malta

December 5, 2019
Share on

The third edition of the Migration Media Award rewarded 26 journalists from 12 countries for their constructive journalism, reflected through human interest and analytical stories, contributing to balance the narrative on migration, making it more evidence based, nuanced and less polarising.

The principals of the ceremony in Valletta, Malta held on Dec. 3, 2019 were the eleven 1st Prize winners from 8 countries: Alicia Media Segura (Spain); Jumana Saadeh (Jordan); Maha Salaheldin (Egypt); Ahmad Ellithy (Egypt); Hannah Kirmes-Daly (Germany/UK); Roshan de Stone (UK); David L Suber (Italy); Khadija El Bab (Morocco); Nicolas Feldmann (France); Mohamed-Karim Boukhsass (Morocco); Mona Allam (Egypt).

The Migration Media Award was created in 2017 to recognize excellence, relevance, and newsworthiness of journalism pieces contributing to balance the narrative on migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

This award is a collaboration of the Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR) funded programs Euromed Migration 4 implemented by the International Center for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) and the Open Media Hub led by Thomson Media, in partnership with the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Malta, the European Investment Bank and the European Asylum Support Office (EASO).


Read more

Press release

Migration Media Award – website

Countries covered:

  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Morocco