Call for Action: Youth driving cultural heritage safeguarding and promotion in southern Mediterranean countries

Opportunity type : Calls for Proposals
Share on

The regional flagship Networks of Mediterranean Youth Project – NET-MED Youth (2014-2018) stems from a strategic UNESCO/EU partnership for the Southern Mediterranean region. It aims at improving the access and effective participation of young women and men in designing national youth strategies and policies.

The selected actions should advance youth’s effective participation in the protection and safeguarding of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, as well as the promotion of cultural diversity, as a pillar of the fundamental right of freedom of expression and as a vehicle to prevent violent extremism and bolster peace and cohesion in the region. More specifically, the Actions should target one of the four priority areas below:

  • Nurture and support advocacy actions towards inclusive cultural heritage policies and strategies, focusing on the participation of youth to cultural heritage protection at the community, national, and regional levels.
  • Equip selected youth networks/alliances/groups with the relevant knowledge, skills, values and attitudes to increase their collective resilience, influence and regional outreach in the fields of protection and promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions and safeguarding of intangible/tangible cultural heritage.
  • Capitalize on existing capacity-building tools and expertise in the field of culture to enhance the pro-active participation of youth in the preservation of tangible and intangible cultural heritage through communications, awareness-raising and advocacy efforts, as well as through knowledge transfer and online mobilization
  • Strengthen associations, networks and alliances for young creative entrepreneurs, and mobilize youth and youth organizations for the promotion of artistic freedom as a fundamental prerequisite of democracy and an essential element for the wellbeing of societies.

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia