Migration Media Award 2019

Opportunity type : Competitions
Share on

The Migration Media Award (www.migration-media-award.eu) funded by the European Union, hosted over 35 winning stories in the 2017 and 41 in the 2018 editions showcasing journalistic excellence on migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

The 2019 edition will reward constructive journalism, reflected through human interest and analytical stories, resulting from time-intensive, un-sensationalistic, in-depth reporting and contributing to balance the narrative on migration, making it more evidence based, nuanced and less polarising.

In April/May 2019, a Jury will select up to 60 applicant journalists to receive mentoring and funding from 750 to 7000 euros for the production of a second story by October 15, 2019. Among these, in November 2019, the Jury will select up to 48 recipient of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd prizes of the Migration Media Award in the 6 media format and 3 language categories.

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia