Eight Syrian ministers added to EU sanctions list

November 9, 2020
Share on

The European Council decided on 6 November to add eight members of the Syrian regime to the list of persons subject to EU restrictive measures on Syria, in light of their recent ministerial appointments.

This decision brings to 288 the total number of persons targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze. 70 entities are also subject to an asset freeze.

The sanctions currently in place against the Syrian regime were introduced in 2011, in response to the violent repression of the Syrian civilian population. The Council keeps developments in the Syrian conflict under constant review. Any decision to prolong the sanctions is for the Council to take on an annual basis.

The EU remains committed to finding a lasting and credible political solution to the conflict in Syria on the basis of UN Security Council resolution 2254 and the 2012 Geneva Communiqué.


Read more

Press release

Syria: Council response to the crisis

Supporting the future of Syria and the region – Brussels IV Conference, 30 June 2020

Countries covered:

  • Syria *
Human Rights