The EU at the Marrakesh Conference to adopt the Global Compact for Migration

December 10, 2018
Share on

The European Union participates today and tomorrow at the Intergovernmental Conference in Marrakesh to adopt the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration. At an early stage the EU contributed to the discussions and work on the Compact. The Compact provides the first international cooperative framework on migration; though it is not legally binding, it aims to foster international cooperation in tackling a challenge that is global.

On the occasion of the recent Progress Report on the European Agenda on Migration High Representative / Vice-President Federica Mogherini highlighted: “Through partnerships, we are showing that managing migration in a humane way is possible, together.”

The successful trilateral cooperation between the African Union, the European Union and the United Nations for example has helped over 39,000 people to return from Libya safely to their homes. The EU-IOM Joint Initiative has supported over 55,000 migrants to re-start their lives. Under the EU Trust Fund for Africa the EU has invested €345 million for migrant protection, return and reintegration.


Read more

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia