Euromed Transport Rail Project takes part in conference on European Train Control System technology

November 19, 2019
Share on

The EU Agency for Railways organised last month a seminar aimed at increasing the understanding on European Train Control System (ETCS) technology and exchanging practices on signaling systems. Throughout the seminar, delegations from Western Balkans and Southern Mediterranean countries expanded their knowledge on the European train protection system ERTMS, including the Regulatory framework, the technical components and had an introduction to ETCS.

Participants also discussed with experts from the EU Agency for Railways the railway radio communication system, GSM-R, which is expected to be followed by the Future Railway Mobile Communication System (FRMCS) from 2030 onwards. The migration challenges and planning of investments raised interest from many of the representatives, too.

The following days, the experts participated in the Control Command and Railway Communication Conference (CCRCC) “The Engine for the Digital Future”. This benchmark event gathered almost 500 experts from the Railway sector. The CCRCC 2019 dealt with the progress made on the ERTMS EDP (Deployment Plan) and high-level experts from Denmark, Italy, Belgium and Spain shared their experience on how they are making progress to meet the targets set by the ERTMS EDP.

The purpose of Euromed Transport Rail Project (EUMedRail) is to improve the operations and the efficiency of the Mediterranean transport system by concentrating its efforts on regulatory reforms, training, and dialogue with the decision makers. The main project’s objective is to support the implementation of the Regional Transport Action Plan 2014-2020 actions related to rail transport, by promoting convergence with EU and international standards, facilitating interoperability, and increasing beneficiaries’ participation in the activities of the European Rail Agency.


Read More

Press Release

European Union Agency for Railways (EUMedRail)

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia