European Parliament elects Ursula von der Leyen as first female Commission President

July 17, 2019
Share on

With 383 votes in favour, the European Parliament elected Ursula von der Leyen President of the next European Commission in a secret ballot on 16 July. She is set to take office on 1 November 2019 for a five-year term.

EP President David Sassoli said: “On behalf of Parliament, I congratulate you on your election as President of the European Commission.[..] The next few years will be very important for the future of the European Union and we can only tackle them successfully if there is close and full cooperation between the institutions.”


Read More

Press Release

European Parliament

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia