EU’s MedReg signs a cooperation agreement

March 22, 2018
Share on

On 21 March 2018, on the occasion of the VII World Forum on Energy Regulation taking place in Cancùn, energy regulatory Associations from developing regions of Africa, the Mediterranean, Central and South America, Central and Eastern Europe, Middle East and Asia signed a cooperation agreement to put their resources in common and jointly work on energy topics of common interest.

Formalising their cooperation, Presidents and Chairmen of the various signatory organisations declared:

All organisations work towards the same objective regionally which is to improve the attractiveness and stability of market conditions for energy investments, foster consumer protection and promote universal access to sustainable energy. This new cooperation agreement will enable us to benefit from each other’s specific areas of expertise and experience and optimize our efforts in areas of common interest.

With this protocol, the signatory associations, whose members represent new and emerging energy markets, formalised their desire to establish a beneficial cooperation and enhance synergies through the sharing and elaboration of research documents and publications and through the joint support of the Parties’ events and activities.

More specifically, the regulatory Associations will organise study visits between delegations of their members, conduct benchmark and case studies and cooperate with each other on an ad-hoc basis. They will also get involved in the capacity building of member organisations, involving each other in their training programs, thus maximising their impact by offering them to a wider regulatory community. Regulators will also be able to propose new areas of cooperation during the physical meetings.

Under the umbrella of the new agreement, ERRA and MEDREG have already agreed to organise a joint training later this year on “Market functioning and Market monitoring tools”, which is of common interest for the two Associations, and open to other interested signatory parties. This first activity should open the way to many more in the next years.


Read More

Press Release


Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia