Green Skills Award: vote before 29 September!

September 25, 2023
Share on

The European Training Foundation has unveiled the ten 2023 ETF Green Skills Award finalists. The award recognises initiatives at the forefront of driving the transition towards a sustainable and green future and have demonstrated exceptional commitment and innovation in promoting and developing green skills throughout the world.

This year’s ten finalists encompass a diverse range of backgrounds and expertise, representing various countries. They were selected from nearly 600 applications from over 60 countries. Here is the complete list:

  • Armenia: TUMO Labs – Empowering youth to protect the environment through a climate change observatory
  • Georgia: Construct2 – Developing a public-private partnership for the provision of training on eco-friendly building materials
  • Indonesia: Carbon Addons – Enabling youth to become climate changemakers through a carbon academy
  • Kenya: E-waste management – Promoting skills development opportunities for sustainable e-waste management
  • Lebanon: Zero waste project – Educating for waste reduction and student environmental empowerment
  • Morocco with Spain: Bouregreg Med-O-Med Gardening School by FUNCI – Providing green vocational training for marginalised youth
  • Serbia: The Green Art Incubator – Promoting sustainable practices in the culture and arts sector
  • Türkiye: Birsen Tanrikulu, teacher – Fostering green skills and sustainability in education
  • Ukraine: Taras Shevchenko National University – Equipping future professionals with green competences
  • USA with Liberia, Sierra Leone, Uganda, Zimbabwe: WeCareSolar – Developing renewable energy solutions for remote communities and women’s empowerment

The winners of the Green Skills Award will be selected by public vote open until 29 September (23:59 CEST) and will be announced at an award ceremony in late 2023. The stories of all finalists and the voting system can be found here:

For more information

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia