International Day of Democracy: Joint statement by the HR/VP Josep Borrell and VP Dubravka Šuica

September 14, 2020
Share on

Ahead of the International Day of Democracy, the High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell and the Vice-President Dubravka Šuica issued the following joint statement:  “Across the world, people continue to demonstrate, often at great personal risk, their desire for democracy. From Hong Kong to Lebanon, Belarus to Sudan, behind the headlines and numbers are brave and courageous people from all backgrounds. We pay tribute to them and share their commitment to democracy.

Democracy is facing challenges, which have been exacerbated by the coronavirus pandemic. Around the world, civil liberties are being eroded, independent media and journalists repressed, and democratic institutions undermined. Polarisation is rising, as people’s trust in democratic institutions and practices falters. While new opportunities for political participation have emerged, we witness the far-reaching impact of new forms of manipulation of information and electoral and democratic processes, intensified by digital technology and social media.  In light of these challenges, the European Union is redoubling its efforts to support those who are working to defend and build democracy, to encourage democratic participation and inclusion regardless of gender or background, to ensure institutional checks and balances, and to hold decision makers to account. We take a leading role in promoting and protecting democracy around the world.

[…]The new ‘Action Plan Human Rights and Democracy’ sets out our ambitions and identifies priorities for concrete external action for the years to come. From cooperation involving former enemies in Colombia to restoring fate in justice in the Democratic Republic of Congo, empowering media in Central Asia and strengthening the role of women in Syria, the EU continues to actively support democratic values and initiatives through our projects and cooperation. In 2019, the EU deployed eight election observation missions and seven election expert missions as part of its commitment to democracy, human rights and the rule of law across the world. “

Read more

Full statement

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia
Human Rights