International Day of Education: Statement by the European Commission and the High Representative

January 24, 2022
Share on

On the occasion of the International Day of Education on 24 January, the European Commission and High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell made the following statement:

“Education is essential to the global recovery and the achievement of all Sustainable Development Goals. It is a fundamental right and the foundation of resilient, peaceful and sustainable societies. Education is the basis and a catalyst for the green transition. It enables citizens to harness the opportunities of digital development. It brings hope and protection to those affected by humanitarian crises and forced displacement. Quality education is a vital part of the development of every child and young person.

2022 is the European Year of Youth and the 35th anniversary of the Erasmus programme. The EU reaffirms the paramount importance of quality education for the personal, social and professional development of children and young people, in and beyond the European Union, to build a better and more equitable future, reduce socio-economic and gender inequalities, and promote peace and democracy.

[…] The EU continues to invest in quality education with a lifelong learning perspective through inclusive and equitable education systems, paying particular attention to girls, women, and vulnerable groups. The EU institutions and EU Member States, as Team Europe, support partner countries to transform their education systems post-pandemic and to address deficits and inequalities in teaching, training, and learning at all levels.

The EU continues as a leading voice in education in emergencies, providing access to safe, inclusive and quality education to millions of children affected by humanitarian crises and conflicts.

Europe will particularly work with partner governments on teachers’ training and governance to ensure quality education outcomes.”

For more information

Full statement

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia