Joint Statement ahead of the International Day of Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation

February 6, 2020
Share on

Ahead of the International Day of Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation, 6 February 2020, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the Commission Josep Borrell, Vice-President for Values and Transparency Věra Jourová, Commissioner for Equality, Helena Dalli, and Commissioner for International Partnerships, Jutta Urpilainen, joined together to reaffirm the EU’s strong commitment to eradicate Female Genital Mutilation worldwide. They made the following statement:

“Girls and women have the exclusive right to make decisions about their bodies. None should see their body subjected to any kind of violence or abuse under any circumstances. Female Genital Mutilation is a severe breach of human rights and a dangerous violation of women’s physical integrity. Today, we join our voices to say: Enough is enough. Zero Tolerance for Female Genital Mutilation.

(..) The European Union addresses ways to tackle Female Genital Mutilation with partner countries as part of its human rights dialogues. This includes adopting laws and regulations to prevent and to criminalize this practice, providing prevention, protection and care services, raising awareness on its consequences, or developing capacities of practitioners. This work is supported by the implementation of concrete projects. In addition, the European Union is also investing substantive amounts to end violence against women and girls through the Joint EU-UN Spotlight Initiative in prevalent countries.

However, more needs to be done. Despite the growing political commitments and investment to end Female Genital Mutilation by 2030, the change is too slow. (..)

We will continue our work to end all forms of violence against women and girls. We must eliminate Female Genital Mutilation once and for all.”


Read more

Joint statement

Questions and Answers about Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting

Countries covered:

  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya