Mediterranean Transmission System Operators Association held executive board meeting

March 9, 2021
Share on

The Association of the Mediterranean Transmission System Operators (Med-TSO) held in videoconference the Executive Board meeting, chaired by President Chaher Boulakhras on 25 February.

Among different administrative and institutional issues, such as the report on the inception activities of the TEASIMED Project and the presentation of the balance sheet 2020, an important point of discussion dealt with strengthening the cooperation with stakeholders.

The Board considered to reinforce the cooperation with ENTSO-E (the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity) and with COMELEC(COmité Maghrébin de l’ELECtricité), indicated as a natural partner of Med-TSO for reinforcing the integration of the Maghreb Zone.

One of the activities that Med-TSO carried out during the Mediterranean Project 2 was to develop the preliminary actions aiming at implementing an Interconnected Electricity Exchange Zone (IEEZ) in the Maghreb Region. A Maghreb Task Force was set up to prepare a road map for facilitating the integration of the Maghreb zone.

Med-TSO is the Association of the Mediterranean Transmission System Operators (TSOs) for electricity, operating the High Voltage Transmission Networks of 19 Mediterranean Countries. It was established on 19 April 2012 in Rome as a technical platform that, using multilateral cooperation as a strategy of regional development, could facilitate the integration of the Mediterranean power systems and foster security and socio – economic development in the region. Its 21 members share the primary objective of promoting the creation of a Mediterranean energy market, ensuring its optimal functioning through the definition of common methodologies, rules and practices for optimizing the operation of the existing infrastructures and facilitating the development of new ones.


Read more

Press release


Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia