Natural gas: Parliament extends EU rules to pipelines from non-EU countries

April 5, 2019
Share on

To provide legal clarity for operators and competitive gas supply for all Europeans, MEPs approved new gas market rules to bring incoming pipelines under EU law.

MEPs adopted the following to all pipelines entering the EU from non-EU countries:
. Gas pipelines from non-EU countries will now be covered by EU law
. Legal clarity for existing and future gas infrastructure from non-EU countries
. Clear procedures for when the Commission can grant exceptions

After the vote, rapporteur Jerzy Buzek (EPP, PL) said: “ From now on, all gas pipelines from non-EU countries, including Nord Stream 2, will have to abide by EU rules: third-party access, ownership unbundling, non-discriminatory tariffs and transparency. That translates into stronger energy security on our continent. This has always been the main goal of the European Parliament and I am delighted that we achieved it.”


Read more

Press release

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia