Syria: EU adds 7 ministers to sanctions list

March 5, 2019
Share on

The Council added seven ministers of the government of Syria to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures against the Syrian regime and its supporters. These additions follow recent governmental changes in Syria.

The decisions brings to 277 the number of persons targeted by a travel ban and an asset freeze for being responsible for the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria, benefiting from or supporting the regime, and/or being associated with such persons.

The EU remains committed to finding a lasting and credible political solution to the conflict in Syria as defined in the UN Security Council resolution 2254 and in the 2012 Geneva Communiqué.

Read more

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Syria *