#TellMyStory: EU launches 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

February 8, 2017
Share on

The European Commission has launched the 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, which recognises outstanding reporting on development and poverty eradication. The Prize is open to professional and amateur journalists, broadcasters and bloggers.

Launched with the hashtag #TellMyStory, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will be awarded to one amateur and one professional journalist from each of the following regions: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Europe. Each winner will be awarded €5 000.

In addition to the main themes outlined above, this year’s competition will include a “Special Prize on Freedom of Religion or Belief outside Europe” covering inspiring stories and initiatives promoting this freedom as well as respect   for religious diversity and inter-religious cooperation. The Special Prizes of €5 000 each will be awarded to one amateur and one professional journalist.

Submissions for the main Prize and special category will be assessed by an independent jury, which will also award an additional €5 000 Grand Prize to one of the winners.

All 13 winners will receive their awards at a ceremony during the 2017 European Development Days in Brussels this June.

Professional and amateur journalists are invited to submit their work related to the themes of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. The report can be in any format, i.e. published online (including blogs), in print, or in the form of a short radio, video or TV broadcast. See below for more details on how to register and information on the rules. Applications can be submitted from 7 February until 10 March 2017. See here all rules and criteria.

Read more

Press release

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize website

Rules and criteria

How to register


Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia