EU Digital COVID Certificate: Commission adopts equivalence decision for Lebanon

December 10, 2021
Share on

On 10 December, the Commission adopted three new equivalence decisions certifying that COVID-19 certificates issued by Lebanon, Cabo Verde, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are equivalent to the EU Digital COVID Certificate. As a result, the three countries will be connected to the EU’s system and their certificates will be accepted under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificate. At the same time, Cabo Verde, Lebanon and the UAE agreed to accept the EU Digital COVID Certificate for EU nationals traveling to the three countries.

Commissioner for Justice, Didier Reynders,said: “The EU Digital COVID Certificate is unique and that’s why 55 countries and territories in five continents have joined the system so far with more than 750 million certificates issued. Even if we have a difficult time with COVID-19 variants, we need the certificate; it has served in the past and will continue to serve in the future to help people to travel safely.

For more information

Press release

Countries covered:

  • Lebanon