EU Neighbours South launches #EyesOnEarth to promote forest preservation

June 21, 2023
Share on

The EU Neighbours South programme is launching the #EyesOnEarth contest as part of its 2023 Environment-focused campaign. The contest aims to highlight the importance of environmental preservation and promote sustainable business models in the Southern Neighbourhood.


The #EyesOnEarth contest invites professionals, organisations, CSOs/CBOs, and NGOs working on sustainable practices in the EU’s Southern Neighbourhood countries to participate. It focuses on projects and initiatives related to biodiversity conservation, forest regeneration, forest-based bio-economy, and circular economy strategies.


Aligned with the new EU forest strategy for 2030, the contest seeks to answer the question, “How can we preserve our forests?” by encouraging innovative approaches and initiatives that ensure the protection and sustainability of forests, contributing to cleaner air and healthy ecosystems.


The call for applications for the #EyesOnEarth contest opens on June 21, 2023, and closes on July 21, 2023. The selection process consists of both a jury and public vote. A panel of experts will assess the submissions and select the finalists and winners based on their expertise and evaluation criteria. Public voting on social media platforms will contribute to 40% of the final score, combining expert judgment with public opinion.


The closing ceremony for the #EyesOnEarth contest will take place in November 2023. Through this initiative, EU Neighbours South aims to inspire action, raise awareness about environmental initiatives, and showcase the EU’s support for green enterprise in the region, ultimately fostering a sustainable future.


The #EyesOnEarth contest is a collaborative initiative between EU Neighbours South and partners such as SwitchMed/MedWaves and EFI Mediterranean Facility, with the support of ENICBCMED.


Apply here for CSOs


Apply here for Entrepreneurs and start-ups

For more information

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia